What Are Gacha Rarity Levels? (R, SR, SSR)

This post may contain affiliate links. If you buy something we may get a small commission at no extra cost to you. (Learn more).

Each gacha game has its own system of rarity levels. Often these systems just vary in naming, but the mechanics are similar for each one. Higher rarity means that whatever you want is harder to obtain, and lower rarities are more common and easier to get.

Although rarity ranks aren’t always indicative of the item’s power level, especially in games with more complicated combat mechanics.

The most common rarity naming systems in gacha games are the following:

  • 1-star, 2-star, 3-star, 4-star, and 5-star
  • R, SR, SSR, UR, UR+
  • F, D, C, B, A, S, SS, SSS
  • Common, Uncommon, Rare, Epic, Legendary

Most gacha games have at least 3 or more rarity levels. It’s usually different for each game, but the rankings are pretty straightforward.

Lettered rankings – like S, SS, and SSS – can also have + and – sign after their name. These indicate additional rarity ranks.

And some games can have additional rarities that don’t follow the ranking system.

For instance, Tears of Themis has an MR rarity card that stands between SR and SSR. MR or mega rare doesn’t thematically fit between SR (super rare) and SSR (super super rare), but that’s still how their ranking system works.

A great way of knowing a game’s rarity levels is by checking its banner’s gacha rates.

These often list out the different rarities available in-game – or you can just naturally discover it while playing the game.

Browse: Video Games

Maeri Mgdrg

Maeri is an avid gacha player currently in the clutches of Genshin Impact. She mainly focuses on character analyses, underlying game mechanics, and occasionally reading game code. She also yearns for the day that Dainsleif is finally playable.